Important Truths

In my high school Philosophy class, we read a list of important truths a guy learned over the course of his life. There were 88 of them and we were asked to pick our favorite ones. I was just thinking about it, and found the list on Google. Here are some of my favorites and what they mean to me:

  1. The most common addiction in the world is the draw of comfort. It wrecks dreams and breaks people.
    People can fall into the trap of being comfortable. When you live life comfortably, you stop living. Take risks. Try to do something each day that is out of the norm or uncomfortable for you. This task doesn’t have to be hard. It could be as simple as going a different way to work or class.
  2. Everyone you meet is better than you at something.
    This is an important one for people who always try to be the best or are hard on themselves if they are not the best. You don’t want to be the best because then you have nothing to strive for.
  3. Indulging your desires is not self-love.
    Just because you do something you want to do once in awhile does not mean you are selfish. Sometimes you have to do something for yourself.
  4. Whoever you are, you will die. To know and understand that means you are alive.
    This is an interesting one because as morbid as it sounds, there are days where I think about death and accept the fact that I will die and on those days, I am not afraid. However, there are other days where death frightens me and I cannot come to terms with it. I guess this one is saying that on the days I accept it, I am alive, and on the other days, I  am not.
  5. Getting truly organized can vastly improve anyone’s life.
    I like to think of myself as organized a good amount of the time. I know when I completely write out everything I have to do around the last month of the semester like when everything is due, I feel so much better about my life.
  6. If you aren’t happy single, you won’t be happy in a relationship.
    If you’re not happy with yourself, how can you make someone else happy?
  7. It’s easy to make someone’s day just by being uncommonly pleasant to them.
    This is one of the simplest, but most effective truths on here. I know when a random girl will smile at me for no reason when I walk to class or someone compliments me out of the blue, or even if the cashier at the store strikes up a friendly conversation, it can instantly make me feel happier.
  8. Most of what children learn from their parents isn’t taught on purpose 
    I am 20 years old and don’t have any children, and don’t plan on it in the near future, but I think this is an important one to remember when I finally do have kids. Kids pick up on things that you don’t realize you do or say.
  9. It is worth re-trying foods that you didn’t like at first.
    Apparently your taste buds change every few years or so. Foods I used to HATE are now some of my favorites. (Sushi, hummus, almond milk and yes, even avocados!)
  10. Nothing — ever — happens exactly like you pictured it.
    Ain’t that the truth!
  11. A good nine out of ten bad things I’ve worried about never happened. A good nine out of ten bad things that did happen never occurred to me to worry about.
    I’m a worrier. I definitely worry about things that aren’t worth worrying about. I need to remember this one.
  12. Anyone can be calmed in an instant by looking at the ocean or the stars.
    Nature is beautiful and something I think a lot of people take for granted. I need to start doing this more when I am stressed or upset.
  13. Life is a solo trip, but you’ll have lots of visitors. Some of them are long-term, most aren’t.
    This is a cool way to think about it. Not everyone is going to be your best friend. People will come and go and sometimes you just have to come to terms with that. If they weren’t meant to be in your life forever, then maybe that’s a good thing.
  14. Wishing things were different is a great way to torture yourself.
    Don’t dwell on the past. The only way you can make things different, is to change it yourself.
  15. The ability to be happy is nothing other than the ability to come to terms with how things change.
    This kinda goes hand-in-hand with number 14. People change. Places change. Situations change. YOU change. If we were all who we were 5 years ago, then we haven’t experienced and lived life.
  16. If everyone in the TV show you’re watching is good-looking, it’s not worth watching.
    Three words: Pretty. Little. Liars.

I know that I don’t 100% live by all of these, but it’s good to think about them and realize sometimes this is how life is. Here is the link to the article with all of the truths.

Leave a Reply

